Dayne Zorko wins AFL Dream Team Rookie of the Year

Congratulations to mature age recruit and Brisbane Lions superstar Dayne Zorko on winning the AFL Dream Team Rookie of the Year award as voted by DT Talk readers. He wins the ‘Golden Egg’ award in tribute to our outgoing rookie writer of Chook’s Rooks, Chook.

Zorko managed to poll 423 votes from a possible 515 votes (from 103 readers casting their votes)  to take out the award. The final 5 looked like this:

  1. Dayne Zorko, Brisbane Lions – 423 votes.
  2. Sam Gibson, North Melbourne – 271 votes.
  3. Jonathan Giles, GWS Giants – 263 votes.
  4. Toby Greene, GWS Giants – 226 votes.
  5. Adam Treloar, GWS Giants – 194 votes.

Thanks to all who voted.


  • Well done Zorks! And well done to the whole DT Talk team for another stellar year of writing and advice. Many thanks!

  • Well done Zorks. Can’t wait for 2013

  • Brak

    Top 3 all finished the year playing on the field and outdid Premiums such as Mitchell, Maric & Buddy at the end when I needed them. Good job guys.